The Primera División or División de Honor of the Liga Nacional de Fútbol Sala, is the premier professional futsal league in Spain. It was founded in 1989 with the name of División de Honor. The Liga Nacional de Fútbol Sala league, which is played under UEFA rules, currently consists of 16 teams, including teams like El Pozo Murcia, Inter Movistar, FC Barcelona, Marfil Santa Coloma, Santiago, Azkar Lugo or Xota Navarra.

The Liga Nacional de Futsal includes:

  • Primera División de Futsal — 1st level.
  • Segunda División — 2nd level.


  • Before the creation of the Liga Nacional de Fútbol Sala in 1989, in Spain were played two futsal championship at the same time, one managed by the Spanish Futsal Federation (FEFS), and the other by the Royal Spanish Football Federation (RFEF). Previously to any futsal league, futsal was limited to benefic and exhibition matches. In 1989, after of years of struggle for the futsal control, the two futsal club associations, ACEFS and ASOFUSA merge to create Liga Nacional de Fútbol Sala.
  • From 2011–12' season onwards, División de Honor will be known as Primera División.
  • For the 2012–13 season, the league will be reduce from 16 to 14 teams.